Climate Action: Want to Do More?

My top five suggestions:

Join a climate group and participate; try one action a month. Here are some suggestions:
Power Up for Climate Solutions to help everyone find accessible and effective actions to participate in solving the climate crisis. I founded this organization in 2018, and we now have monthly action alerts, a blog, and a growing set of resources and ideas on our website.
Citizens’ Climate Lobby to create the political will for climate solutions by enabling individual breakthroughs in the exercise of personal and political power. Non-partisan non-profit working for federal carbon fee and dividend law.
Our Children’s Trust securing the legal right to a stable climate and healthy atmosphere for all present and future generations.
Our Climate mobilizes and empowers the generations most affected by climate change to pass inclusive, science-based climate policy through creative, civic engagement.
350.org to build a global, grassroots climate movement that can hold our leaders accountable to the realities of science and the principles of justice.

Talk about climate change with your friends, family, co-workers, and acquaintences. Societal transformations happen when enough of us (10%) care deeply about and talk about an issue.  Anthony Leiserowitz, Yale Program on Climate Communication, has ten words to get you started. Katherine Hayhoe’s Global Weirding series is also a great source for ideas to talk about.

Ask your elected officials to take action to fight climate change. Here’s a link to find your Member of Congress.  Messages telling your Member(s) of Congress that addressing climate change is your top priority, or asking them to enact specific climate policy actions, such as carbon pricing, support for renewable energy projects or higher energy efficiency standards are all important ways to have an impact. So is writing to say simply that you will vote only for those working for strong action to solve the climate crisis.

Reduce your carbon footprint and Offset the rest.  Take steps you find workable to reduce the carbon emissions you are responsible for, then offset your remaining carbon emissions by purchasing carbon offsets which fund projects that reduce greenhouse gas emissions elsewhere. Here are several recommended websites to get started:
Carbon Fund Climate Care NativeEnergy  Terrapass.

Donate any amount at all to a climate solutions group.  You can donate to one of the climate groups mentioned above (Power Up for Climate Solutions, Citizens’ Climate Lobby, Our Children’s Trust, 350.org, Our Climate). Another option is to donate to the Sierra Club, Environmental Defense Fund, Natural Resources Defense Council, or Union of Concerned Scientists with instructions that your money must go to climate programs.

Two final thoughts:

  1. Do something, do anything, just don’t do nothing
  2. It is worth picking from these suggestions the choices(s) that resonate with you, and not the ones that don’t. There is something for everyone to do. Thank you for caring!

Recommended Sources:

Climate Change and Environment:
Climate Progress: http://climateprogress.org
Climate Central: http://www.climatecentral.org/
The Daily Climate: https://www.dailyclimate.org
David Roberts, Vox: http://www.vox.com/authors/david-roberts
High Country News: http://www.hcn.org
InsideClimate News: http://insideclimatenews.org
More than Scientists morethanscientists.org
Real Climate: www.realclimate.org
Skeptical Science: www.skepticalscience.com
Sightline Daily–Northwest News that Matters: http://daily.sightline.org
Union of Concerned Scientists Global Warming website: http://www.ucsusa.org/global_warming
Yale Environment 360: http://e360.yale.edu/

Climate Science Information:

IPCC 2018 Special Report: Global Warming of 1.5 degrees C
National Climatic Data Center http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov
Climate.gov http://www.climate.gov/#climateWatch
National Climatic Data Center State of the Climate:http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/sotc/
U.S. Global Change Research Program: Fourth National Climate Assessment