Climate Action

Top 5 ways to take action on climate change:

      1. Talk about it with your friends, family, co-workers, and acquaintences. Societal transformations happen when enough of us (10%) are caring and talking about an issue.  Here are ten words to share (taken from Anthony Leiserowitz, Yale Program on Climate Communication):
        1.It’s real, 2. It’s us 3. It’s bad, 4. Scientists agree, 5. Solutions exist
      2. Join a climate action group and participate, even just one action a month. Here are some good ones:
        Citizens’ Climate Lobby to create the political will for climate solutions by enabling individual breakthroughs in the exercise of personal and political power. Non-partisan non-profit working to enact federal carbon fee and dividend law.
        Climate Solutions to accelerate practical and profitable solutions to globabl warming by galvanizing leadership, growing investment, and bridging divides.

        More than Scientists a growing community of climate scientists sharing our personal hopes and concerns about climate change.
        Our Children’s Trust securing the legal right to a stable climate and healthy atmosphere for all present and future generations.
        Our Climate mobilizes and empowers the genrations most affected by climate change to pass inclusive, science-based climate policy through creative, civic engagement.
        350.org to build a global, grassroots climate movement that can hold our leaders accountable to the realities of science and the principles of justice.

      3. Take steps to reduce your carbon footprint that you find doable. then don’t feel guilty about the rest.

      4. If you can, donate 1% or more to a climate solutions group.  Suggestions above, or Sierra Club, EDF, NRDC, UCS with instructions that you want your money to go to climate work.

      5. Let go of outcomes and savor the world.

Recommended Websites:

Climate Change and Environment:
Climate Progress: http://climateprogress.org
Climate Central: http://www.climatecentral.org/
David Roberts, Vox: http://www.vox.com/authors/david-roberts
High Country News: http://www.hcn.org
InsideClimate News: http://insideclimatenews.org
Real Climate: www.realclimate.org
Skeptical Science: www.skepticalscience.com
Sightline Daily–Northwest News that Matters: http://daily.sightline.org
Union of Concerned Scientists Global Warming website: http://www.ucsusa.org/global_warming
Yale Environment 360: http://e360.yale.edu/

NOAA Climate Information websites:
National Climatic Data Center http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov
Climate.gov http://www.climate.gov/#climateWatch
National Climatic Data Center State of the Climate: http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/sotc/