Climate Action

My top five suggestions:

Talk about climate change with your friends, family, co-workers, and acquaintences. Societal transformations happen when enough of us (10%) are caring and talking about an issue.  Anthony Leiserowitz, Yale Program on Climate Communication, has ten words to get you started. Katherine Hayhoe’s Global Weirding series is also a great source for ideas to talk about.

Join a climate action group and participate, even just one action a month. Here are some good ones:
Citizens’ Climate Lobby to create the political will for climate solutions by enabling individual breakthroughs in the exercise of personal and political power. Non-partisan non-profit working for federal carbon fee and dividend law.
Climate Solutions to accelerate practical and profitable solutions to global warming by galvanizing leadership, growing investment, and bridging divides.
Our Children’s Trust securing the legal right to a stable climate and healthy atmosphere for all present and future generations.
Our Climate mobilizes and empowers the genrations most affected by climate change to pass inclusive, science-based climate policy through creative, civic engagement.
350.org to build a global, grassroots climate movement that can hold our leaders accountable to the realities of science and the principles of justice.

Reduce your carbon footprint (a good tool is the Cool Climate Calculator) with steps you find workable, then don’t feel guilty about the rest.

Offset your remaining carbon emissions by purchasing carbon offsets from a reputable company. Carbon offsets fund projects that reduce greenhouse gas emissions. I recommend NativeEnergy or Terrapass.

Donate 1% or more to a climate solutions group (if you can afford it).  I suggest one of the climate groups  above, or Sierra Club, EDF, NRDC, or UCS with instructions that you want your money to go to climate work.

Recommended Websites:

Climate Change and Environment:
Climate Progress: http://climateprogress.org
Climate Central: http://www.climatecentral.org/
David Roberts, Vox: http://www.vox.com/authors/david-roberts
High Country News: http://www.hcn.org
InsideClimate News: http://insideclimatenews.org
More than Scientists morethanscientists.org
Real Climate: www.realclimate.org
Skeptical Science: www.skepticalscience.com
Sightline Daily–Northwest News that Matters: http://daily.sightline.org
Union of Concerned Scientists Global Warming website: http://www.ucsusa.org/global_warming
Yale Environment 360: http://e360.yale.edu/

NOAA Climate Information websites:
National Climatic Data Center http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov
Climate.gov http://www.climate.gov/#climateWatch
National Climatic Data Center State of the Climate: http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/sotc/